Author: Eliane Fatchina

Eliane Yabo Omonlayo Fatchina is a reporter of Afro impact. She holds a professional degree in journalism from ENSTIC in Benin, she is a pan-Africanist passionate about culture, social issues and the environment. With already seven years of experience, she works daily to give voice to ideas through writing.

The Industrial Zone of Glo-Djigbé in Benin, located 45km from the economic capital Cotonou, has obtained three (03) ISO certifications. The announcement was made this Wednesday, January 25, 2023 by the company in charge of the development of the said industrial zone; Investment and Promotion of Industry Company (SIPI-BENIN S.A.). These are ISO 9001:2015 (quality management), ISO14001:2015 (environmental management), and ISO 45001:2018 (occupational health and safety management system). “These integrated management system certifications are referenced on the IAF (International Accreditation Forum) website as part of our activities in the planning, development, operation and maintenance of the GDIZ,” said SIPI-Benin in…

Read More

France complies with the request of the Burkinabe authorities who had denounced the defence agreements between the two countries. French troops will therefore leave Burkina Faso within a month, the French Ministry of Foreign Affairs said on Wednesday 25 January 2023. The ruling military junta in Burkina Faso confirmed on Monday its intention to end its military agreement with France. In response to this decision, the French authorities announced on Wednesday 25 January that the 400 members of the special forces who are stationed in a camp near Ouagadougou will be withdrawn. “We have formally received (Tuesday) the denunciation by…

Read More

Aminata Touré, who was elected as a member of parliament in the July 2022 legislative elections in the presidential camp, has been stripped of her position. This was at the end of a meeting held on Tuesday of the parliamentary group supporting the actions of President Macky Sall. The board of the Senegalese National Assembly has acted this Tuesday, the disqualification of the deputy Aminata Touré. 10 board members voted in favour and 6 disapproved the decision. “I have just learned of my exclusion from the National Assembly by President Macky Sall in total violation of the law,” Aminata Touré…

Read More

Following an agreement signed with the government in the afternoon of Tuesday 24 January, the General Federation of Transport (transport union) under the Tunisian General Labour Union (Ugtt, central trade union) announced the cancellation of its strike scheduled for 25 and 26 January. This decision was made public in a press release issued by the transport union on Wednesday 25 January. “After negotiations (…) a historic agreement was reached in favour of the sector’s employees and a minute was signed to this effect. Negotiations on the contentious issues will continue at a later stage, and therefore it has been decided…

Read More

While Senegalese road transporters are challenging the measures taken by the government to limit accidents on the roads, another tragedy has struck the country of Macky Sall. At least 19 people lost their lives in a road accident on Sunday night in the north of the country. The tragedy occurred as a result of a collision between a public transport bus and a truck on the Saint Louis-Louga road, near the town of Sakal, in northern Senegal. “Another fatal accident on our roads at the entrance to Ngeun Sarr. 19 lives lost and 24 injured “President Macky Sall lamented on…

Read More

The road transporters of Senegal have decreed an unlimited strike which will come into effect on 17 January 2023. This was done at a general assembly held this Saturday. The reason for the walkout is that the transport actors reject the measures taken by the government to combat road accidents. At the end of a general assembly on Saturday, Senegalese road transporters decided to step up their fight against the State. Indeed, after the tragedy in Kaffrine, the executive took appropriate measures to avoid such tragedies. Among the 22 contested measures is a ban on buses and minibuses between 11pm…

Read More

The Constitutional Court proclaimed twenty-four hours after the CENA, the final results of the legislative elections of January 8. The supreme judges have only confirmed the provisional results given by the Electoral Commission. These give an absolute majority of 81 deputies to the parties supporting President Patrice Talon, the Up-R and the Br. And also 28 representatives to the opposition party The Democrats. 53 MPs for the Progressive Union Renewal (Up-R), 28 for the Republican Bloc (Br) and 28 for The Democrats. This is the final verdict made public on the night of Thursday 12 January by the Constitutional Court…

Read More

The opposition party The Democrats says it does not recognize the provisional results of the legislative elections of January 8, 2023 proclaimed by the CENA. According to Eric Houndété and his teammates, these figures do not reflect the truth of the ballot box. This is why the political party intends to take the matter to the constitutional court to contest the results. “The Democratic Party rejects this verdict which does not reflect the desire of the population to make our party the leading political force in our country”.,” said Eric Houndété, president of the party, during a press conference he…

Read More

The Autonomous National Electoral Commission (Cena) made public, on Wednesday 11 January 2023, the provisional results of the legislative elections of 8 January 2023. According to the statistics given by the institution, the Union Progressiste le Renouveau consolidated its position as the leading political party in Benin with 53 seats, followed by the Republican Bloc and the Democrats with 28 seats each. While waiting for the publication of the final results by the Constitutional Court, here is the list of the 109 MPs elected for this 9th legislature in Bénin. 1st circonscription electorale (4 seats) Amadou Djibril Labiou (UPR)Issa Salifou…

Read More

The president of the Autonomous National Electoral Commission (CENA), Sacca Lafia gave in the afternoon of Wednesday 11 January, the provisional results of the legislative elections of Sunday 08 January 2023. According to these major trends, three political parties out of the seven in the running will have seats in the Beninese parliament for the next three years. The first inclusive elections in the era of Patrice Talon, the incumbent president since 2016, these provisional results reflect the will of the Beninese to return to the path of democracy. Indeed, according to the figures communicated by the chairman of ANEC,…

Read More

Auteur/autrice : Eliane Fatchina

Eliane Yabo Omonlayo Fatchina est une journaliste reporter à Afro impact. Titulaire d’une licence professionnelle en journalisme à l’ENSTIC du Bénin, elle est une panafricaniste passionnée de culture, des questions de société et d’environnement. Avec déjà sept ans d’expériences, elle s’emploie quotidiennement à donner de la voix aux idées à travers l’écriture.

La Libye et l’Italie ont signé ce samedi 28 janvier 2023 à Tripoli, dans la capitale libyenne un accord pour l’exploitation de deux gisements gaziers dans le bloc offshore, au nord de la Libye. D’une valeur de 8 milliards de dollars, ledit accord vise la production de 850 millions de mètres cube de gaz par jour, à partir de 2026. C’est le plus grand investissement dans le secteur énergétique libyen depuis 2000.  En effet, le géant italien des hydrocarbures Eni et la Compagnie nationale de pétrole libyenne NOC ont signé un important accord visant à accroître l’approvisionnement énergétique de l’Europe.…

Lire Plus

La Zone Industrielle de Glo-Djigbé du Bénin située à 45km de la capitale économique Cotonou, a obtenu trois (03) certifications ISO. L’annonce a été faite ce mercredi 25 Janvier 2023 par la société en charge du développement de ladite zone industrielle ; Société d’Investissement et de la Promotion de l’Industrie (SIPI-BENIN S.A.). Il s’agit des certifications ISO 9001:2015 (management de la qualité), ISO14001:2015 (management environnemental), et ISO 45001:2018 (Système de management de la santé et de la sécurité au travail). « Ces certifications de systèmes de gestion intégrée sont référencées sur le site internet de l’IAF (Forum International d’Accréditation) dans le cadre de…

Lire Plus

La France satisfait à la requête des autorités burkinabè qui avaient dénoncé les accords de défense liant les deux pays. Les troupes françaises vont donc quitter le territoire burkinabè d’ici un mois, a informé le ministère français des Affaires étrangères, ce mercredi 25 janvier 2023. La junte militaire au pouvoir au Burkina Faso a confirmé ce lundi sa volonté de mettre fin à l’accord militaire qui le lie avec la France. En réponse à cette décision, les autorités françaises ont annoncé ce mercredi 25 janvier que les 400 membres des forces spéciales qui sont stationnés dans un camp près de Ouagadougou,…

Lire Plus

Aminata Touré, élue députée lors des législatives de juillet 2022 dans le rang de la mouvance présidentielle a été déchue de ses fonctions. C’est à l’issue d’une réunion tenue ce mardi du groupe parlementaire soutenant les actions du président Macky Sall. Le bureau de l’Assemblée nationale sénégalaise a acté ce mardi, la déchéance du député Aminata Touré. 10 membres du bureau ont voté pour et 6 ont désapprouvé la décision. « Je viens d’apprendre mon exclusion de l’Assemblée nationale par le président Macky Sall en totale violation de la loi », a réagi mardi Aminata Touré sur Twitter après l’annonce de la décision.…

Lire Plus

Suite à un accord signé avec le gouvernement dans l’après midi de ce mardi 24 janvier, la Fédération générale du transport (syndicat des transports) relevant de l’Union générale tunisienne du travail (Ugtt, centrale syndicale) a annoncé l’annulation de sa grève prévue les 25 et 26 janvier courant. Ladite décision a été rendue publique à travers un communiqué du syndicat des transports, ce mercredi 25 janvier.  « Après des négociations (…) un accord historique a été conclu en faveur des salariés du secteur et un procès-verbal a été signé à cet effet. Les négociations sur les points litigieux se poursuivront ultérieurement,…

Lire Plus

Alors que les transporteurs routiers sénégalais récusent les mesures prises par le gouvernement afin de limiter les accidents sur les routes, une autre tragédie vient de frapper le pays de Macky Sall. Au moins 19 personnes ont en effet perdu la vie dans un accident de la route intervenu dans la nuit de ce dimanche à ce lundi 16 janvier au nord du pays. Le drame est survenu d’une collision entre un bus de transport en commun et un camion sur l’axe Saint Louis- Louga, près de la localité de Sakal, au nord du Sénégal. « Encore un autre accident mortel sur…

Lire Plus

Les transporteurs routiers du Sénégal ont décrété une grève illimitée qui entre en vigueur à partir de ce 17 janvier 2023. C’est à la faveur d’une assemblée générale tenue ce Samedi. Au motif de ce mouvement de débrayage, les acteurs du transport rejettent les mesures prises par le gouvernement pour lutter contre les accidents des routes. A l’issue d’une assemblée générale ce samedi, les transporteurs routiers sénégalais ont décidé de muscler leur bras de fer contre l’Etat. En effet, après le drame de Kaffrine, l’exécutif a pris des mesures idoines afin d’éviter des tragédies du genre. Au nombre de ces…

Lire Plus

La cour constitutionnelle a proclamé vingt quatre heures après la CENA, les résultats définitifs des législatives du 08 janvier dernier. Les juges suprêmes n’ont fait que confirmer les résultats provisoires donnés par la Commission électorale. Lesquels confortent une majorité absolue de 81 députés aux partis acquis à la cause du président Patrice Talon, l’Up-R et le Br. Et également 28 représentants au parti d’opposition Les Démocrates. 53 députés pour l’Union progressiste le Renouveau (Up-R), 28 pour le Bloc républicain (Br) et 28 pour Les Démocrates. C’est le verdict définitif rendu public dans la nuit de ce jeudi 12 janvier par…

Lire Plus

Le parti d’opposition Les Démocrates dit ne pas reconnaitre les résultats provisoires des législatives du 08 janvier 2023 proclamés par la CENA. Selon Eric Houndété et ses coéquipiers, ces chiffres ne reflètent pas la vérité des urnes. C’est pourquoi la formation politique compte saisir la cour constitutionnelle pour contester ces résultats. « Le parti Les Démocrates rejette ce verdict qui ne reflète pas la volonté du peuple de faire de notre parti la première force politique de notre pays », a déclaré Éric Houndété, président du parti, au cours de la conférence de presse qu’il a animée quelques heures après la proclamation des…

Lire Plus

La Commission électorale nationale autonome (Céna) a rendu public, ce mercredi 11 janvier 2023, les résultats provisoires des législatives du 8 janvier 2023. Selon les statistiques données par l’institution, l’Union Progressiste le Renouveau conforte sa place de première formation politique au Bénin avec 53 sièges, suivie du Bloc républicain et des « Démocrates » avec chacun 28 sièges. En attendant la publication des résultats définitifs par la Cour constitutionnelle, voici la liste des 109 députés élus pour cette 9è législature au Bénin. 1ère circonscription électorale (4 sièges) Amadou Djibril Labiou (UPR)Issa Salifou (UPR)Sabi Mohamed Djamilatou (UPR)Bako Arifari Nassirou 2è circonscription électorale (4…

Lire Plus