Author: Afro impact Newsroom

The editorial staff of Afro-impact offers to provide you with African information in its entirety, without bias, in order to give a true picture of the African continent.

The rate of banking among Niger’s population remains among the lowest in Africa. The country has a population of almost 80% living in rural areas with limited access to conventional banking services. However, the use of digital financial products and services, which is being incorporated into the country’s habits, is supported by the national inclusive finance strategy, which includes provisions that put digital transformation at the heart of the actions. “BIYAN ZAMANI” to facilitate remote payments Making financial services accessible to rural populations and boosting financial inclusion in Niger is the objective of this partnership between I-Futur and the United…

Read More

Nigerian President Muhammadu Buhari inaugurated the country’s first deepwater port on Monday 23rd January. Located in Lekki, east of the economic capital Lagos, it will contribute to the country’s economic growth. The US$1.5 billion Lekki Deep Sea Port, funded by China, is the largest seaport in Nigeria and one of the largest in West Africa. It is expected to revolutionise the way goods are transported and traded in Nigeria and will create hundreds of thousands of jobs. The project is a joint venture between the Nigerian government, through the Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA), the Lagos State government, the Tolarams Group…

Read More

The Constitutional Court of Benin rejected, after a hearing on Saturday 21 January, the appeal of The Democrats party. The said appeal requested the court to enjoin the Autonomous National Electoral Commission to communicate to the party, the copies of the compilation reports of the results of the legislative elections of 8 January 2023. In a petition addressed to the Constitutional Court on 19 January, the president of the political party The Democrats requested copies of the minutes of the compilation of the results of the legislative elections of 8 January 2023. The party led by the former vice-president of…

Read More

Martinez Zogo, who disappeared on 17 January, was found dead on Sunday 22 January in a state of putrefaction near Yaounde. Director of the private radio Amplitude FM, where he hosts a program called “Embouteillage”, the lifeless body of Martinez Zogo was found in Ebogo 3 in the Mefou and Afamba department, in the Central region of Cameroon. According to images released by his family, “his body was found in a state of decomposition” in the suburbs of the city of Yaoundé. He was taken to the specialist departments for autopsy. The host of the program “Embouteillage”, a daily program…

Read More

The Burkinabe government has asked the French troops deployed on its territory to withdraw within one month. According to the Burkina Information Agency (AIB), “the Burkinabe government last Wednesday denounced the agreement that has governed the presence of French armed forces on its territory since 2018. In a context of growing diplomatic tensions between Paris and Ouagadougou, “This denunciation made on 18 January 2023, gives according to the terms of the agreement of 17 December 2018, one month to the French Armed Forces to leave the territory of Burkina Faso,” added the national agency. According to concordant sources, the military…

Read More

The government of Benin has adopted a national strategy for artificial intelligence and megadata. Developed over a five-year period, the action plan was approved on Wednesday 18 January by the Council of Ministers. In its vision of making digital technology one of the foundations of economic and social progress, Benin is adopting a national artificial intelligence strategy. According to the minutes of the Council of Ministers of 18 January, “this strategy and its action plan have been developed in a process that integrates stakeholders, following a holistic approach based on technological solutions adapted to the needs of our country, particularly…

Read More

Beninese teachers dismissed in 2019 for boycotting a diagnostic evaluation have just been reinstated in the civil service. At the Council of Ministers on Wednesday 18 January, the executive decided to lift the sanctions imposed on them. A total of 305 primary and secondary school teachers will be dismissed from the civil service in December 2019. The reason was that they refused to participate in the diagnostic evaluation initiated by the government for them. But these 113 primary school teachers and 192 secondary school teachers have just been given a smile because they have been reinstated into the civil service…

Read More

The World Health Organisation (WHO) has warned about two medicines that do not meet “quality or specification standards”. These are the cough syrup AMBRONOL and the flu syrup DOK-1 MAX. As a result, Benin has prohibited its marketing on its territory. In a press release dated 16 January, the Ministry of Health of Benin indicated that it had been informed by “the World Health Organization of the circulation in the European region of two products confirmed to be of inferior quality (contaminated), i.e. not meeting their quality standards or specifications. These products are the cough syrup AMBRONOL and the anti-influenza…

Read More

Eighty-six journalists and media workers were killed worldwide in 2022 – one every four days, according to UNESCO data. This highlights the serious risks that journalists still face in the exercise of their duties and their great vulnerability. “After several consecutive years of decline, the sharp increase in the number of journalists killed in 2022 is alarming. The authorities must redouble their efforts to put an end to these crimes and ensure that the perpetrators are convicted, as indifference is a major factor in this climate of violence,” said UNESCO Director-General Audrey Azoulay. The peak in murders in 2022 marks…

Read More

Auteur/autrice : La rédaction Afro impact

La rédaction de Afro-impact se propose de vous livrer l’information africaine dans sa globalité, sans parti pris, afin de donner une image vraie du continent Africain.

Les autorités ivoiriennes ont mis en service ce jeudi 26 janvier, les premiers minibus fabriqués entièrement par l’usine locale d’assemblage de SOTRA Industries. Ces quarante (40) engins ont été remis aux transporteurs d’Abobo et de Yopougon, dans le District d’Abidjan. Ce sont les ministres des Transports, Amadou Koné et de celui de la Solidarité et la lutte contre la pauvreté, Mme Belmonde Dogo qui ont présidé la cérémonie. Au total 40 minibus de 18 à 26 places ont été mis en service ce jeudi. Ce sont des véhicules fabriqués localement par la Société des transports abidjanais (SOTRA Industries) et son…

Lire Plus

Le taux de bancarisation des populations du Niger demeure parmi les plus faible du continent africain. Le pays est constitué d’une population de près de 80% vivant en zone rurale avec un accès limité aux services bancaires classique. Cependant, l’utilisation des produits et services financiers numérique, en voie d’être incorporée aux habitudes du pays est soutenue par la stratégie nationale de finance inclusive, qui prévoit des dispositions mettant la transformation numérique au cœur des actions. “BIYAN ZAMANI” pour faciliter les paiements à distance Rendre accessible les services financiers aux populations rurales et booster l’inclusion financière au Niger, tel est l’objectif…

Lire Plus

Le président nigérian Muhammadu Buhar a inauguré ce lundi 23 janvier le premier port en eau profonde du pays. Situé à Lekki, à l’Est de la capitale économique Lagos, il contribuera à la croissance économique du pays. D’un montant de 1,5 milliard de dollars, financé par la Chine, le port en eau profonde de Lekki est le plus grand port maritime du Nigeria et l’un des plus grands d’Afrique de l’Ouest. Il devrait révolutionner la manière dont les marchandises seront transportées et échangées au Nigéria et créera des centaines de milliers d’emplois. Le projet est une coentreprise entre le gouvernement…

Lire Plus

La Cour constitutionnelle du Bénin a rejeté, à l’issue d’une audience ce samedi 21 janvier, le recours du parti Les Démocrates. Ledit recours demandait à la cour d’enjoindre à la Commission Électorale Nationale Autonome de communiquer au parti, les copies des procès-verbaux de compilation des résultats des législatives du 08 janvier 2023. Dans une requête adressée à la cour constitutionnelle le 19 janvier dernier, le président du parti politique Les Démocrates a demandé copies des procès-verbaux de compilation des résultats des législatives du 08 janvier 2023. Le parti dirigé par l’ancien vice-président de l’Assemblée nationale estime en effet qu’il y a eu…

Lire Plus

Disparu le 17 janvier courant, le corps de Martinez Zogo a été retrouvé mort, ce dimanche 22 janvier, dans un état de putréfaction près de Yaoundé. Directeur de la radio privée Amplitude FM, où il anime une émission nommée Embouteillage, le corps sans vie de Martinez Zogo a été retrouvé à Ebogo 3 dans le département de la Mefou et Afamba, région du Centre du Cameroun. Selon les images publiées par sa famille, « son corps a été retrouvé en état de décomposition » dans les banlieues de la ville de Yaoundé. Il a été amené dans les services spécialisés…

Lire Plus

Le gouvernement burkinabè a demandé aux troupes françaises déployées sur son territoire, de se retirer et ce, dans un délai d’un mois. Selon l’Agence d’Information du Burkina (AIB), « le gouvernement burkinabè a dénoncé mercredi dernier, l’accord qui régit depuis 2018, la présence des Forces armées françaises sur son territoire ». Dans un contexte de tensions diplomatiques grandissantes entre Paris et Ouagadougou, « Cette dénonciation faite le 18 janvier 2023, donne selon les termes de l’accord du 17 décembre 2018, un mois aux Forces armées françaises pour quitter le territoire burkinabè », a ajouté l’agence nationale. Selon les sources concordantes, la junte militaire du…

Lire Plus

Le parti d’opposition Les Démocrates a déposé ce jeudi 19 janvier un recours auprès de la cour constitutionnelle. Et ce, après avoir contesté les résultats du scrutin législatif du 08 janvier dernier proclamés par la CENA et confirmés par la cour. Dans ledit recours, le parti dirigé par Eric Houndété a demandé  à la haute juridiction, d’enjoindre la Direction Générale des Elections (DGE) de lui communiquer les résultats compilés au niveau des 546 arrondissements que compte le pays. Selon les informations, la requête qui intervient  une semaine après la proclamation des résultats, a été déposée depuis le 12 janvier dernier…

Lire Plus

Le gouvernement du Bénin a adopté une stratégie nationale d’intelligence artificielle et des mégadonnées. Elaboré sur une période de cinq ans, le plan d’action a été approuvé ce mercredi 18 janvier à la faveur du conseil des ministres. Dans sa vision de faire du numérique l’un des socles du progrès économique et social, le Bénin se dote d’une stratégie nationale d’intelligence artificielle. Selon le compte rendu du conseil des ministres de ce 18 janvier, « cette stratégie et son plan d’action ont été élaborés dans une démarche qui intègre les parties prenantes, suivant une approche holistique axée autour des solutions technologiques adaptées aux…

Lire Plus

Les enseignants béninois radiés en 2019 pour avoir boycotté une évaluation diagnostique viennent d’être réintégrés dans la fonction publique. C’est à la faveur du conseil des ministres de ce mercredi 18 janvier que l’exécutif a décidé de lever les sanctions à eux infligées. Ils sont au total 305 enseignants des cours primaire et secondaire à être radiés en décembre 2019 de la fonction publique. Au motif, ils ont refusé de participer à l’évaluation diagnostique initiée par le gouvernement à leur égard. Mais ces 113 enseignants du cours primaire et 192 du cours secondaire viennent de retrouver le sourire car, réintégrés…

Lire Plus